#009: Unmasking Our Identity [Podcast]

PFP009[powerpress]

Show Notes:
Focus Verse: “And a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.” Matthew 3:17

Importance of Identity:

  • What’s in a Name?
    • Abram: Noble/Exalted Father vs. Abraham: Father of Many
      • [God gives a new identity to call us to something beyond our current reality]
      •  Genesis 17: 4-5  “This is my covenant with you: I will make you the father of a multitude of nations! What’s more, I am changing your name. It will no longer be Abram. Instead, you will be called Abraham, for you will be the father of many nations.
    • Jacob: “Supplanter”  vs. Israel  – “God Contended or Wrestle/Struggle with God”
      • [Calls us something to correct a formerly held identity]
      • “Then he said, “Your name shall no longer be called Jacob, but Israel, for you have striven with God and with men, and have prevailed.” Gen 32:28
      • [Sometimes we need to be reminded of who we are]
      • Daily Identity Reminders: WhoIAmInJesus.Wordpress.com
      • “God said to him, “Your name is Jacob; You shall no longer be called Jacob, But Israel shall be your name.” Thus He called him Israel.” Gen 35:10
    • Simon:  “He has heard”  vs. Peter: “Stone”
    •  “Blessed are you, Simon Barjona, because flesh and blood did not reveal this to you, but My Father who is in heaven. 18″I also say to you that you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build My church; and the gates of Hades will not overpower it. Matthew 16:17-18
  • The Masks We Wear
    • Adaptability vs. lack of integrity?
    • 1 Corinthians 9: 19-23“Even though I am a free man with no master, I have become a slave to all people to bring many to Christ. 20 When I was with the Jews, I lived like a Jew to bring the Jews to Christ. When I was with those who follow the Jewish law, I too lived under that law. Even though I am not subject to the law, I did this so I could bring to Christ those who are under the law. 21 When I am with the Gentiles who do not follow the Jewish law, I too live apart from that law so I can bring them to Christ. But I do not ignore the law of God; I obey the law of Christ. When I am with those who are weak, I share their weakness, for I want to bring the weak to Christ. Yes, I try to find common ground with everyone, doing everything I can to save some. 23 I do everything to spread the Good News and share in its blessings.”
  • Next Actions:
So what do YOU think?

