The Rains Will Come

This morning I read a friend’s blog that was so encouraging I had to share it, and share what God used it to bring me to today.

After reading her post this morning, it had me meditating on the season that is to come. The season that is on the horizon. The fact is that as I write this, it is the first day of Spring. I look out my bedroom window and see the piles of dirty, white flakes of winter remaining and wonder…is it here yet? Is Spring REALLY here yet?

Yesterday it rained. It was reminder that Spring is on the way. It was a reminder that winter is almost over. But today….I see no sign of Spring. I see only what Winter left behind. If I am gauging based on the surface, it’s still Winter.

I am then brought to the difficult seasons that I am in and how the Lord calls me to be faithful and wait on Him and his promises. As I watch and pray, it is easy to stay faithful waiting for the new season as I see glimpses of what’s to come. As God feeds me encouragement that He is preparing the new thing, I can with confidence wait on Him. What if that encouragement is missing? What if I am left to trust with no sign of the promise?

I think about when Joshua and the Israelites were called to march around the walls of Jericho and when instructed, to shout. The people  had no idea of what God’s promise was and only followed orders from their captain. They were found faithful and as they were obedient even in the face of what must have been tiring and monotonously demoralizing, God moved on their behalf. They were found faithful not knowing that day 7 was the day God would come through. 

Well guess what? Spring is here. Today is day 7! Though the wall still stands. Though snow still remains on the ground, the new day has come.

Your promise may not have arrived, but walk out today with the faith that the Lord is faithful and that His promise will come.

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:19

Photo credit: oldenoughforfairytales.com

Photo credit: oldenoughforfairytales.com

His rains will come into your winter and wash away your snowy day.

His rains will come and fill up your ditches dug in faith.

His rains will come and cleanse your wounds of past hurts.

His rains will come and HIS NEW DAY WILL SPRING FORTH.

Why not today? Why can’t today be your day 7?

Do you hear it?

I hear walls trembling.

I hear brick and mortar cracking.

Will you be found faithful walking one more lap of faith?

 

So what do YOU think?

