Man… Today is going to SUCK!

“This is the day that the Lord had made. I will rejoice and be glad in it.”
~Psalms 118:24

I love this classic verse! It is so brief but potent. It reminds me that my time is not my own. This is the day that the Lord has made. God authored today. He handcrafted it and has given me grace enough to be alive to participate in it. This spurs me to the foundation of my gratitude: thanks and praise for another day.

Secondly, it drives at a distinction between reacting to life and being proactive and determining your response to things before hand. Today’s thinking says, ” I hope today will be a good day… I don’t want to be crabby today.” or, ” Man… Today’s gonna suck!!” if we take our cues from this simplest of verses we find ourselves commanding our response. I WILL rejoice and be glad… Usually we are only rejoicing and being glad when the day goes smoothly or there is some other event to look forward to, but that hasn’t changed here. What has changed is our perspective on what brings us joy.

We go into the day having decided that it is enough to know that God made today and because of that simple fact, we WILL rejoice.

Today no matter what tragedy you find yourself in…no matter what trial awaits you or presently surrounds you… Know that you can decide to REJOICE and be GLAD in it.
It won’t change your circumstances, but it will change you amidst your circumstances. After all isn’t that ultimately God’s plan for us?

Be blessed and be a blessing.

So what do YOU think?

